Why I’d Rather Feed My Child Dirt Than a School Lunch

David Cassuto

I’ve been trying to figure out what it says about this country that McDonalds  sets higher standards for its flesh products than the USDA does for school lunch programs. At a minimum, it says that we care almost as little about our children as we do about the animals we torture and slaughter to feed them.

Perhaps this should prompt a reexamination.

Or maybe we should just ignore it and pretend everything is fine.  Yeah, yeah; that’s the ticket.

2 Responses

  1. We live in a country with little regard for animals, children and the elderly – seems that only the wealthy count. I sure am glad that my child is not a carnivore – I do know however that the rest of the world is not going to turn vegetarian soon, so what to do about the other children who are eating not just tortured flesh but tainted at that?
    And by the way – I like the new look of the blog very much.

  2. Wealthy and middle-aged, I guess. Who knew that that was the most desirable demographic? And thanks for the props.

Leave a comment