Starve the Poor (and the Animals)

David Cassuto

Lt. Governor Andre Bauer of South Carolina recently compared poor people to stray animals. He declared himself focused on reducing the number of people on government assistance because:  “my grandmother was not a highly educated woman, but she told me as a small child to quit feeding stray animals. You know why? Because they breed.”

The takeaway from this would seem to be that Mr. Bauer’s grandmother believed in starving stray animals and her grandson feels the same about poor people.  One hears a lot about the link between violence against animals and violence against people but this is the first I’ve heard on the starvation thing.

Oh,  Mr. Bauer now regrets his remarks.

3 Responses

  1. Nah, he doesn’t regret it, he just regrets getting caught saying it.

  2. This idiot’s comment was a metaphor for perverted Social Darwinism. Anyone want to guess if he had any particular race in mind?

  3. I’m still learning from you, while I’m trying to reach my goals. I definitely love reading all that is posted on your blog.Keep the aarticles coming. I loved it!

Leave a comment